Godard’s Breathless – Redux

September 15, 2006

breathless1.jpg
Just finished watching Jean-Luc Godard’s 1960 film, Breathless. It’s one of Godard’s best films and a very intergal part starting the whole French New Wave film scene which influenced so many filmmakers. In my opinion, it wasn’t as entertaining as my favorite Godard movie, Alphaville. There wasn’t much plot to the film and must admit I fell asleep twice just trying to watch the movie but for its amazing cinematography, its style, its dialogue and the fact that its a Godard movie, its definitely worth checking out.

Here are some screens from the movie which started the French New Wave scene:

breathless2.jpg

breathless3.jpg

breathless4.jpg

breathless5.png

breathless6.jpg

breathless8.jpg

breathless9.jpg

2 Responses to “Godard’s Breathless – Redux”


  1. […] I’m glad GQ didn’t limit the list to American films only. Godard’s feature “Breathless” which started the genre of French New Wave Cinema (Click here for my review of “Breathless”) as well as Federico Fellini’s 8 1/2 (which is probably one of my favorite films of all time), made the list. I absolutely loved Wong Kar Wai’s “In The Mood For Love” and it definitely had a reason to be on this list because its stylish cinematography/photography that made this film. Trainspotting, A Clockwork Orange, Rushmore and of course my favorite film of all time, The Godfather Part II were notables of the list as well. […]


  2. […] I’m glad GQ didn’t limit the list to American films only. Godard’s feature “Breathless” which started the genre of French New Wave Cinema (Click here for my review of “Breathless”) as well as Federico Fellini’s 8 1/2 (which is probably one of my favorite films of all time), made the list. I absolutely loved Wong Kar Wai’s “In The Mood For Love” and it definitely had a reason to be on this list because its stylish cinematography/photography that made this film. Trainspotting, A Clockwork Orange, Rushmore and of course my favorite film of all time, The Godfather Part II were notables of the list as well. […]


Leave a Reply

