Louis Vutton Foundation for Creation

October 3, 2006

lvcentre.jpg

Wow, I know it’s been a while since I blogged. Partly because I’ve been busy but mainly because not much out there that I thought was interesting. THIS IS INTERESTING! I was browsing through several blogs (my daily routine) and stopped over at Supertouch (a great art/lifestyle blog). It seems that the great Frank Genry has come up with another masterpiece. BEAUTIFUL. Unlike his ever so shitty and conservative renovation of Toronto’s Art Gallery of Ontario (AGO), his West Paris’ Louis Vutton Foundation for Creation is truly, just TRULY spectular. His “cloud made up of glass” structure will hold art collections, exhibits and other functions for the French luxury goods company LVMH Moët Hennessy. The structure will be completed around 2009, 2010 and will cost an estimated 127 million.

To be honest, 127 million doesn’t seem like that much for something that will definitely become a future landmark for the city. It’s amazing what Gehry (the celebritect) can still create even after building so many landmarks already. Which begs the question why Gehry’s design for the AGO is so crappy? Perhaps he’s still bitter about his time in Toronto (being a Torontoian). Anyways, hopefully I will be alive to see the day which Toronto will hold such structures such as this.

Information/Photo VIA Supertouch

Leave a comment